History of District 98

At the stroke of the midnight hour when the world slept, a few excited members were cheering aloud. A baby District was born on July 1, 2015. The District slowly started walking on its feet and with support from the clubs and members aimed to achieve excellence. In the first year of its inception, District 98 excelled by achieving President’s Distinguished District recognition. We were ranked ninth in the world. Under the leadership of its first District Director, DrBrillian S. K., DTM, District 98 made a mark in the world of Toastmasters.

The year after, Dr Chandra Shekar DP, DTM, led the District, as it grew and got stronger. The District achieved excellence once again when it reached President’s Distinguished District status once again and the ninth rank in the world. The team of officers and club members celebrated as we moved forward, growing at 13%.

Under the leadership of Arvind Nair, DTM the District saw a growth of 24%, and we achieved the status of President’s Distinguished District once again.

District 98 went through a roller coaster ride, yet emerged victorious under the leadership of Ravi Teja, DTM. It achieved Smedley Distinguished District recognition in the first year of the new recognition system.

The year after that, the District Team led by District Director VenkataRamana Dittakavi thrived despite the challenges imposed by a global pandemic. The team successfully worked towards a transition to an online format to ensure that the District continued to serve its members.

The success of the District is due to the efforts of every single member in the District. As the circle nears completion, with the reformation process in place to split into three Districts by 2022, we have a new team that will work to help District 98 greater heights in the current year under the leadership of District Director Niteash Agarwaal, DTM.